• Saturday, July 26, 2014 - 2:51pm

    NEED FOR SPEED - Blu-ray review

    Despite all the flaws, there’s no denying the visceral feeling that "Need for Speed" evokes. I found myself tensed up throughout most of it, and that served to remind me that however simplistic and clichéd this film was, it still had me in its grip.

  • Saturday, July 26, 2014 - 12:38pm

    AMERICAN GIRL: ISABELLE DANCES INTO THE SPOTLIGHT - Blu-ray review

    This one is intended for girls ages 3-12, and few outside the target audience will want to watch. But it IS going to be popular with girls who like dance, and that would be, what, most of them?

  • Saturday, July 26, 2014 - 2:46am

    HOUSE OF CARDS: SEASON TWO - Blu-ray review

    Slick and sharp-witted, but not as rigorous as Season One, the new second season of "House of Cards" is still devious fun.

  • Friday, July 25, 2014 - 3:59pm

    DOM HEMINGWAY - Blu-ray review

    Jude Law gives a bravura performance as the title character, but you can’t escape the feeling that this 2013 crime comedy-drama could have been either funnier or more dramatic.

  • Friday, July 25, 2014 - 7:08am

    INSOMNIA - Blu-ray review

    Skjoldbjaerg calls it an inversion of the film noir, a film blanc in which sunlight serves the traditional role of darkness.

  • Wednesday, July 23, 2014 - 9:11am

    THE ESSENTIAL JACQUES DEMY - Blu-ray review

    I would consider this set a towering triumph if for no other reason than the inclusion of “Bay of Angels,” a film that absolutely blew me away.

  • Sunday, July 20, 2014 - 11:02pm

    McCANICK - Blu-ray review

    It nicely uses subtleties to tell its story and it’s a story that has been told many times before but there are some nice twists and turns to make it unique and worth watching.

  • Sunday, July 20, 2014 - 4:02pm

    THE WIPERS TIMES - DVD review

    “The Wipers Times” finds a new true story of World War I, and tells that story on its own inventive terms.

  • Saturday, July 19, 2014 - 6:00pm

    WORLD WAR I CENTENNIAL COMMEMORATIVE COLLECTION - DVD review

    If you’d ask me which film I enjoyed the most, as a lover of old swashbuckler’s I’d have to say “The Dawn Patrol.” Given the other films and the fantastic packaging, the “World War I Centennial Commemorative Collection” merits an 8 out of 10.

  • Thursday, July 17, 2014 - 1:56pm

    MADE IN AMERICA (2013) - Blu-ray review

    “Made in America” is a documentary and a message film, and while music doesn’t take a back seat, it’s more of a passenger than a driver. It feels like nonstop music without the generic concert format. But you learn or intuit something in the process.

Pages

Recent reviews




FRAEK.NET - thought, naughty and nice.

Sponsored