• Monday, January 26, 2015 - 2:45pm

    TALES FROM EARTHSEA - Blu-ray review

    I’d watch “Tales from Earthsea” again for the wonderful hand-drawn artwork, backgrounds, and animation, but not for the hackneyed narrative that left me with a “been there, done that” feeling and reportedly disappointed Le Guin as well.

  • Monday, January 26, 2015 - 7:12am

    THE BITTER TEARS OF PETRA VON KANT - Blu-ray review

    “Petra Von Kant” is one of the best-acted films I have ever seen

  • Monday, January 26, 2015 - 6:02am

    THE JUDGE - Blu-ray review

    Warner Bros. isn’t really swinging for the fences with “The Judge.”

  • Monday, January 26, 2015 - 5:11am

    PALM BEACH STORY - Blu-ray review

    Sturges, one of the first true writer-directors in Hollywood, was known for his urbane, rapid-fire dialogue and his deftly-paced comic storylines.

  • Monday, January 26, 2015 - 2:30am

    LA CIENAGA - Blu-ray review

    Martel doesn't try to connect the dots with typical continuity editing either, opting instead to focus on textures and fleeting movements, stabbing at spots of time rather than stitching together coherent action.

  • Sunday, January 25, 2015 - 9:03pm

    DOWNTON ABBEY, SEASON FIVE - Blu-ray review

    The latest season of the period drama rolls out on disc, with improvements over last season in tow. And some really fabulous hats, as well.

  • Sunday, January 25, 2015 - 6:06pm

    BLACK SAILS: SEASON 1 - Blu-ray review

    “Black Sails” isn’t as visceral as “Spartacus,” but the mythology isn’t as muddled as “Da Vinci’s Demons.”

  • Sunday, January 25, 2015 - 3:26am

    PORCO ROSSO - Blu-ray review

    If I saw the cover of “Porco Rosso” in my favorite retail store, I honestly don’t think I’d be tempted to buy it. A pig in a trenchcoat seems too close to a pig in a poke. Imagine my surprise when it turned out to be my favorite anime movie of all time.

  • Saturday, January 24, 2015 - 3:44pm

    MADEA'S TOUGH LOVE - DVD review

    This one is strictly for Madea and Tyler Perry fans. For the rest, it’s "Tyler Perry Presents Another Average to Below-Average Movie."

  • Thursday, January 22, 2015 - 11:28pm

    POM POKO - Blu-ray review

    Shape-shifting raccoons fighting steam shovels and bulldozers? “Pom Poko” is an inventive, animated pro-environmental epic that offers both light and poignant moments to offset the adventure and fantasy.

Pages

-

Recent reviews





Sponsored