• Friday, July 25, 2014 - 7:08am

    INSOMNIA - Blu-ray review

    Skjoldbjaerg calls it an inversion of the film noir, a film blanc in which sunlight serves the traditional role of darkness

  • Wednesday, July 23, 2014 - 9:11am

    THE ESSENTIAL JACQUES DEMY - Blu-ray review

    I would consider this set a towering triumph if for no other reason than the inclusion of “Bay of Angels,” a film that absolutely blew me away.

  • Sunday, July 20, 2014 - 11:02pm

    McCANICK - Blu-ray review

    It nicely uses subtleties to tell its story and it’s a story that has been told many times before but there are some nice twists and turns to make it unique and worth watching.

  • Sunday, July 20, 2014 - 4:02pm

    THE WIPERS TIMES - DVD review

    “The Wipers Times” finds a new true story of World War I, and tells that story on its own inventive terms.

  • Saturday, July 19, 2014 - 6:00pm

    WORLD WAR I CENTENNIAL COMMEMORATIVE COLLECTION - DVD review

    If you’d ask me which film I enjoyed the most, as a lover of old swashbuckler’s I’d have to say “The Dawn Patrol.” Given the other films and the fantastic packaging, the “World War I Centennial Commemorative Collection” merits an 8 out of 10.

  • Thursday, July 17, 2014 - 1:56pm

    MADE IN AMERICA (2013) - Blu-ray review

    “Made in America” is a documentary and a message film, and while music doesn’t take a back seat, it’s more of a passenger than a driver. It feels like nonstop music without the generic concert format. But you learn or intuit something in the process.

  • Thursday, July 17, 2014 - 12:12pm

    RIO 2 - Blu-ray review

    "Rio 2" explodes with personality and atmosphere, and if you're suffering any sort of World Cup letdown, this energetic Amazonian adventure is a good way to taper off.

  • Wednesday, July 16, 2014 - 2:40pm

    NOAH - Blu-ray review

    For me, the trick is seeing through all the pizzazz and getting to the film’s core merits. With “Noah” from Paramount Pictures, we seem to get a pretty decent balance of both...

  • Tuesday, July 15, 2014 - 8:34am

    SCANNERS - Blu-ray review

    Cronenberg doesn't leave the goriest parts to the viewer's imagination; he means to make you squirm.

  • Tuesday, July 15, 2014 - 1:53am

    SMASH & GRAB: THE STORY OF THE PINK PANTHERS - DVD review

    You truly only get a small glimpse into what makes them tick. There is a lot more under the surface that could have seemingly been touched upon but wasn't.

Pages

Recent reviews




FRAEK.NET - thought, naughty and nice.

Sponsored